Taylor Swift Responds to Crossover Criticism

 
Me: Some country music fans despise the almighty crossover. What do you say to them?

TS: Well I think you’re gonna have people criticizing what you do no matter what, and I’d rather have them criticize me for exploring the edges rather than criticizing me for having music that all sounds the same. That’s my big fear; if I started to make records that all kind of started to sound alike. That’s, to me, a lot worse than making stuff that’s kind of outside the box.

Me: Right. If you were like, “Make sure you put fiddle and steel guitar on every track because I want to make sure it’s country,” that would be ridiculous.

TS: I think that you have to take music for what it is, which is a representation of your feelings. It’s not like you have to have certain instruments on every single track. I like for it to sound the way that it felt and that sometimes takes different sounds than what people are used to.

This entry was posted in Country Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taylor Swift Responds to Crossover Criticism

  1. chris says:

    “Rather than criticizing me for having music that all sounds the same.” It all sounds the same! Hello!

Leave a Reply

